Archive for the ‘mystery books’ Category

Arrow in the Head at JoBlo.com on my new thriller movie WHITE KNUCKLE with Horror Equity Fund.

Friday, February 2nd, 2018

Eric Red is one of our favorite writers around here. How could we not love the work of the scribe who gave us such cool films as THE HITCHERNEAR DARKBLUE STEELBODY PARTSBAD MOON, and 100 FEET (which featured Arrow in the Head founder John Fallon)? Back in 2015, Red wrote a novel titled WHITE KNUCKLE (you can read Jake Dee’s review of the novel at THIS LINK), and now we are excited to hear that he’s teaming up with Horror Equity Fund, Inc. to write and direct a film based on the novel.

Described as a “terrifying road thriller in the tradition of THE HITCHER”, WHITE KNUCKLE is

a gripping story of female empowerment about a woman who survives an attack by a serial killer, and then takes it upon herself to stop him from hurting anyone else.

For a more detailed synopsis, we can turn to the book’s description:

There’s a killer on the road… He’s a big rig truck driver who goes by the CB handle White Knuckle, and he’s Jack the Ripper on eighteen wheels. For thirty years he has murdered hundreds of women in unimaginable ways, imprisoning them in a secret compartment in his truck, abducting them in one state and dumping their dead bodies across the country. Dedicated FBI agent Sharon Ormsby is on a mission to hunt down and stop White Knuckle. She goes undercover as a truck driver with a helpful long hauler named Rudy in a cross-country pursuit that will ultimately bring her face-to-face with White Knuckle in a pedal-to-the-metal, high-octane climax on a highway to Hell.

Horror Equity Fund’s CEO Marlon Schulman, CCO Brian Herskowitz, and EVP Tony Timpone will be executive producing WHITE KNUCKLE. An entertainment company focused solely on the horror and thriller genres, Horror Equity Fund aims to “bring content creators, fans, and investors together and give them access to the tools that help them see their passions into profits”. The company is currently raising funds through a soon-to-close Regulation CF investment funding campaign.

Timpone promises that WHITE KNUCKLE will “keep people off the highways like JAWS kept ‘em out of the water”.

Read the full article at: http://bit.ly/2DYaTPL

The movie version of my novel WHITE KNUCKLE is on the way.

Friday, January 26th, 2018

For Immediate Release:

Visionary writer/director Eric Red is teaming with Horror Equity Fund for the new horror movie, WHITE KNUCKLE. Eric has crafted a script and will helm the movie based on his novel of the same name. Horror fans know Eric as the writer of genre favorites, Near Dark (1987) and The Hitcher (1986). He is also the writer / director of Body Parts (1991) and Bad Moon (1996).

WHITE KNUCKLE tells a gripping story of female empowerment about a woman who survives an attack by a serial killer, and then takes it upon herself to stop him from hurting anyone else.

Marlon Schulman CEO, Brian Herskowitz CCO, and Tony Timpone EVP of Horror Equity Fund have signed on as Executive Producers and plan on taking this project to the next level of horror entertainment.

Eric Red says, “I’m very excited to be joining forces with Marlon Schulman, Brian Herskowitz and Tony Timpone at Horror Equity Fund for my new film, WHITE KNUCKLE. It’s a great team to be working with making a terrifying road thriller in the tradition of THE HITCHER.”

Tony Timpone says, “Very happy that the first project that I brought into Horror Equity Fund to be fast-tracked is Eric Red’s super-kinetic WHITE KNUCKLE. Eric’s previous work in the genre, THE HITCHER, NEAR DARK and BODY PARTS, were unique and terrifying. WHITE KNUCKLE will keep people off the highways like JAWS kept ’em out of the water. And HEF supporters can be part of the ride!”

To read the full article on horrornews.net go to: http://horrornews.net/129123/creator-near-dark-hitcher-partners-horror-equity-fund-new-horror-movie-white-knuckle/

Great new review of my novel WHITE KNUCKLE in the San Francisco Review of Books.

Sunday, December 10th, 2017

“White Knuckle’ by Eric Red is well worth reading:

What do you do when a trucker starts playing games with you on the freeway? He’s trying to damage your car and make you stop. This woman attempts to get away and thinks she has when he drives on by. Unfortunately, he just went up and turned around and came back. Now he’s getting out of his truck. She’s locked her doors, but that doesn’t slow him down…

Mr. Red writes an interesting story about a man who has gone insane. He thinks the highways belong to him. He can pick his victims and torture them without remorse or guilt. No one can find him; or so he thinks.

We had the I-5 killer in the Pacific Northwest. It took a long time to take him down. So this premise is actually believable. What the killer in this story didn’t understand was that the FBI was after him. New technology allowed them to find DNA and compare marks on the bodies and find links that showed that a very old cold case was related to a more recent one. How long had this man been on the road? A long, long time…
The FBI agent is a newbie, trying to earn her special agent badge. When they haul in a potential suspect and she determines he’s not her man, she disappointed and feeling a bit bad that they accused him. He was glad to be cut free, but he offers to help if he can. She comes up with the idea she’ll travel with him and pretend to be his wife so she can try to locate the killer.
The reader will learn CB trash talk, learn the common terms for prostitutes, and learn about trucker bars. You’ll also find out just how far a person can go if they are determined. Both the cop and the killer are determined so the final confrontation is horrific, exciting, and a toss-up. You’ll keep flipping those pages until the end. Mr. Red knows how to keep your attention. His words flow well, the story holds up and you won’t forget it soon.”
- San Francisco Review of Books.
Read the full review at http://bit.ly/2AI5Ei7

Proud to be a guest of honor with Jack Ketchum at the Ghost Town Writer’s Retreat in Georgetown, Colorado next July.

Monday, October 16th, 2017

For more information go to: http://ghosttownwritersretreat.com/

Check out my live YouTube interview on UK’s Chattering With Nicholas Vince.

Sunday, July 23rd, 2017

We talk about my new novel THE WOLVES OF EL DIABLO, western and horror books and films, and lots of other fun stuff: http://bit.ly/2upNDC2

Publishers Weekly gives a good review to my new novel, THE WOLVES OF EL DIABLO.

Saturday, July 8th, 2017

“In this blood-soaked weird west story (following The Guns of Santa Sangre), bad guys come with glowing red eyes instead of black hats, but they still go down in a hail of (silver) bullets. Red mixes up vengeful werewolves, roguish American outlaws, and Mexican peasant Pilar, whose love for gunman Tucker leads them to embark on a train robbery. Tucker and his buddies Fix and Bodie haven’t been paid for a previous werewolf encounter, so they plan to heist the silver shipment from the Salazar mine. Azul, sister to slain werewolf leader Mosca, wants them dead, and stolid Colonel Higuerra and his 60 federales are not letting the silver go without a fight. Red, a screenwriter as well as a novelist, places a premium on action (“Then the first of the three werewolves struck!”) over character or description. Readers will enjoy discovering the connection between Azul’s abandoned twin pups and the mysterious, hypermasculine Salazar brothers and appreciate the resolution of Tucker and Pilar’s story.”

— Publishers Weekly

THE WOLVES OF EL DIABLO is now available for preorder on Amazon.com in hardcover and paperback at http://amzn.to/2sZEGBF and Kindle: http://amzn.to/2rWOFYi

Special $3.99 price for new Crossroad Press Kindle edition of my crime thriller novel WHITE KNUCKLE on Amazon for a limited time.

Friday, February 3rd, 2017

“Rookie FBI Special Agent Sharon Ormsby works as an analyst for the Bureau when she discovers evidence of a prolific interstate truck driver serial killer who has been on the road for forty years and killed over five hundred victims. His CB handle is White Knuckle and he is Jack The Ripper on eighteen wheels. Sharon is assigned to go undercover as a truck driver trainee with a helpful long hauler named Rudy to hunt White Knuckle down. With two million big rigs on the U.S. highway system, tracking down the killer is as impossible as finding a needle in a haystack. She wrestles with her own inexperience and doubts, under pressure to prove herself as an FBI agent. When the young agent gets on the serial killer’s trail, the chase escalates into a deadly game of cat and mouse in a cross-country pursuit that ultimately brings SA Sharon Ormsby face-to-face with White Knuckle in a pedal-to-the-metal, high-octane climax on a highway to Hell.”

From the publisher’s book description.

Available on Amazon at http://amzn.to/2jBV1bv

#Mystery #Thriller #Crime #MysteryBooks #SerialKiller #FBI#Procedural #Trucker #ThrillerBooks #CrimeBooks #Action #Scary#Kindle

Excellent new review of my novel WHITE KNUCKLE by John Harrison.

Friday, December 9th, 2016

“I ordered a copy of Eric Red’s White Knuckle from Amazon after reading a few rave notices from people whose opinions I usually respect and find reliable, and after diving just a few pages into the book I had become seduced and lost within its pages. White Knuckle is a gripping thriller about a prolific, truck driving serial killer who has spent over forty years criss-crossing the United States, abducting his victims and keeping them bound, helpless and terrified within a secret steel chamber installed underneath his big rig. A young, novice female FBI agent teams up with a seasoned, ex-con trucker to cruise the interstates in the hope of finding the maniac who has been leaving bodies all across the country. It quickly turns into a personal game of cat and mouse for both agent and killer, with each of them seemingly gaining the upper hand in turn, until the story reaches its frenzied climax.
Fast-paced, violent and gruesome, but with a true sense of character and a remarkable detail for life on the open road, White Knuckle is a cracking good read, with a few moments of genuine tension that help the book live up to its title (White Knuckle is the CB handle for the killer). The book has a real cinematic feel to it, not surprising as author Red has penned a number of excellent screenplays over the years, including The Hitcher (1986), Near Dark (1987), Blue Steel (1990) and Body Parts (1991, which he also directed).
I had a few minor quibbles with the story, mostly some moments of convenience and the odd detour into territory that seemed a bit far-fetched and over-the-top compared to what the bulk of the book delivers, but they did nothing to diminish my enjoyment of White Knuckle. Highly recommended if you feel like reading a gritty, pulpy thriller that contains elements of movies like Duel (1971), Breakdown (1997), Silence of the Lambs (1991) andThe Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974), yet combines them into something wholly of its own. I’ll definitely be checking out more of Eric Red’s horror fiction in the near future.” –John Harrison.
Read the full review at: http://bit.ly/2gijj3J