Archive for the ‘procedural’ Category

Arrow in the Head at JoBlo.com on my new thriller movie WHITE KNUCKLE with Horror Equity Fund.

Friday, February 2nd, 2018

Eric Red is one of our favorite writers around here. How could we not love the work of the scribe who gave us such cool films as THE HITCHERNEAR DARKBLUE STEELBODY PARTSBAD MOON, and 100 FEET (which featured Arrow in the Head founder John Fallon)? Back in 2015, Red wrote a novel titled WHITE KNUCKLE (you can read Jake Dee’s review of the novel at THIS LINK), and now we are excited to hear that he’s teaming up with Horror Equity Fund, Inc. to write and direct a film based on the novel.

Described as a “terrifying road thriller in the tradition of THE HITCHER”, WHITE KNUCKLE is

a gripping story of female empowerment about a woman who survives an attack by a serial killer, and then takes it upon herself to stop him from hurting anyone else.

For a more detailed synopsis, we can turn to the book’s description:

There’s a killer on the road… He’s a big rig truck driver who goes by the CB handle White Knuckle, and he’s Jack the Ripper on eighteen wheels. For thirty years he has murdered hundreds of women in unimaginable ways, imprisoning them in a secret compartment in his truck, abducting them in one state and dumping their dead bodies across the country. Dedicated FBI agent Sharon Ormsby is on a mission to hunt down and stop White Knuckle. She goes undercover as a truck driver with a helpful long hauler named Rudy in a cross-country pursuit that will ultimately bring her face-to-face with White Knuckle in a pedal-to-the-metal, high-octane climax on a highway to Hell.

Horror Equity Fund’s CEO Marlon Schulman, CCO Brian Herskowitz, and EVP Tony Timpone will be executive producing WHITE KNUCKLE. An entertainment company focused solely on the horror and thriller genres, Horror Equity Fund aims to “bring content creators, fans, and investors together and give them access to the tools that help them see their passions into profits”. The company is currently raising funds through a soon-to-close Regulation CF investment funding campaign.

Timpone promises that WHITE KNUCKLE will “keep people off the highways like JAWS kept ‘em out of the water”.

Read the full article at: http://bit.ly/2DYaTPL

Check out my live YouTube interview on UK’s Chattering With Nicholas Vince.

Sunday, July 23rd, 2017

We talk about my new novel THE WOLVES OF EL DIABLO, western and horror books and films, and lots of other fun stuff: http://bit.ly/2upNDC2

Excellent new review of my novel WHITE KNUCKLE by John Harrison.

Friday, December 9th, 2016

“I ordered a copy of Eric Red’s White Knuckle from Amazon after reading a few rave notices from people whose opinions I usually respect and find reliable, and after diving just a few pages into the book I had become seduced and lost within its pages. White Knuckle is a gripping thriller about a prolific, truck driving serial killer who has spent over forty years criss-crossing the United States, abducting his victims and keeping them bound, helpless and terrified within a secret steel chamber installed underneath his big rig. A young, novice female FBI agent teams up with a seasoned, ex-con trucker to cruise the interstates in the hope of finding the maniac who has been leaving bodies all across the country. It quickly turns into a personal game of cat and mouse for both agent and killer, with each of them seemingly gaining the upper hand in turn, until the story reaches its frenzied climax.
Fast-paced, violent and gruesome, but with a true sense of character and a remarkable detail for life on the open road, White Knuckle is a cracking good read, with a few moments of genuine tension that help the book live up to its title (White Knuckle is the CB handle for the killer). The book has a real cinematic feel to it, not surprising as author Red has penned a number of excellent screenplays over the years, including The Hitcher (1986), Near Dark (1987), Blue Steel (1990) and Body Parts (1991, which he also directed).
I had a few minor quibbles with the story, mostly some moments of convenience and the odd detour into territory that seemed a bit far-fetched and over-the-top compared to what the bulk of the book delivers, but they did nothing to diminish my enjoyment of White Knuckle. Highly recommended if you feel like reading a gritty, pulpy thriller that contains elements of movies like Duel (1971), Breakdown (1997), Silence of the Lambs (1991) andThe Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974), yet combines them into something wholly of its own. I’ll definitely be checking out more of Eric Red’s horror fiction in the near future.” –John Harrison.
Read the full review at: http://bit.ly/2gijj3J

My novels WHITE KNUCKLE and IT WAITS BELOW have a new home and publisher with Crossroad Press in January 2017.

Tuesday, September 13th, 2016

Both books will be released in brand new editions.

All of my novels are on the shelves at Valley Bookstore‬ in Jackson Hole, Wyoming.

Saturday, June 4th, 2016

The  best bookstore in Wyoming.

Valley Bookstore
125 N. Cache
Jackson Wyoming 83001
307) 733-4533

www.valleybookstore.com

‪#‎FridayReads‬ ‪#‎MustReads‬ ‪#‎WhiteKnuckle‬ ‪#‎ItWaitsBelow‬‪#‎TheGunsOfSantaSangre‬ ‪#‎DontStandSoClose‬ ‪#‎Thriller‬ ‪#‎ThrillerBooks‬‪#‎Mystery‬ ‪#‎MysteryBooks‬ ‪#‎ScienceFiction‬ ‪#‎ScienceFictionBooks‬ ‪#‎Horror‬‪#‎HorrorBooks‬ ‪#‎EricRed‬

Drop by my official Facebook page for the latest news on my projects!

Friday, April 29th, 2016

Follow the link: http://bit.ly/1pOZSUF

‪#‎werewolf‬ ‪#‎western‬ ‪#‎weirdwest‬ ‪#‎gunfighters‬ ‪#‎cowboys‬ ‪#‎westernfiction‬‪#‎supernatural‬ ‪#‎horrorbooks‬ ‪#‎action‬ #‎mysterybooks‬ ‪#‎mystery‬ ‪#‎serialkiller‬ ‪#‎fbi‬ ‪#‎procedural‬ ‪#‎crime‬ ‪#‎trucker‬‪#‎thriller‬ ‪#‎action‬ ‪#‎scary‬ ‪#‎youngadult‬ ‪#‎steamy‬ ‪#‎sexybooks‬ ‪#‎newadult‬ ‪#‎thriller‬ ‪#‎erotica‬‪#‎romanticsuspense‬ ‪#‎love‬ ‪#‎fatalattraction‬ ‪#‎sciencefiction‬ ‪#‎seaadventure‬ ‪#‎monster‬ ‪#‎scifi‬ ‪#‎alien‬ ‪#‎submarine‬‪#‎deepsea‬ ‪#‎kaiju‬ ‪#‎kindle‬

“WHITE KNUCKLE is a harrowing reading experience that may leave you looking suspiciously at every big rig truck on the highway.” – Ray Walsh, Curious Book News.

Tuesday, August 25th, 2015

“It’s a twisted, gut-wrenching, graphic, grisly, gritty, gripping tale – certainly not for those who are looking for a subtle, peaceful crime novel that’s likely to put you to sleep.

It focuses on FBI Special Agent Sharon Ormsby, a recent academy graduate, who’s been assigned to the Highway Serial Killer Initiative.  When body parts are identified in different, far-flung locations, various indicators point to a serial killer, a big rig driver travelling around the country.  Ormsby goes undercover as a truck driver in the FBI investigation, joining veteran big rig driver Rudy Dykstra on the road in pursuit of a killer who goes by the handle of White Knuckle.  She travels with Dykstra cross-country, (there’s even a stop in Marshall MI), as they try to gather information and discover the true identity of the murderer.  Meanwhile, the clever killer keeps on picking up and brazenly kidnapping women and girls, keeping them restrained in a special secret compartment that he’s built into his huge vehicle.  He’s been leaving body parts in assorted states for forty years; most authorities weren’t even aware of his gruesome deeds – many of the bodies have never been identified or even found.

White Knuckle has a nasty, dark past – he tortured animals as a child; he long ago progressed to viciously killing women and shows little sign of stopping. He makes multiple-murderer Ed Gein look like a mere beginner.  Ormsby, Dykstra and her supervisor are working diligently but they have few useful leads, rising safety concerns and time constraints.

Hollywood screenwriter and director Red increases the tension by offering intriguing emotional viewpoints, providing insights from victims, the crazed killer and Ormsby, who has her own hidden secrets. Red has done his research – his terrifying novel is full of well-described locales and peppered with the blunt opinions of tired truckers.  The brutal, full-throttle conclusion is carefully crafted, making it almost impossible to put the book down.

There are likely to be comparisons to Richard Matheson’s classic, nerve-wracking trucking saga “Duel” or Robert Bloch’s “Psycho”; this may leave you sleepless and linger longer in your memory.” – Ray Walsh, Curious Book News.

Read the full review at http://bit.ly/1PwVSiZ

WHITE KNUCKLE is available in trade paperback and digital editions in bookstores, from Samhain Publishing, or on Amazon at http://amzn.to/1STW9jo

#thriller #mysterybooks #mystery #horror #serialkiller #FBI #procedural #crime #trucker #action #scary

Check out the new book trailer for my serial killer thriller novel, WHITE KNUCKLE, now online!

Tuesday, August 4th, 2015

View the trailer at http://t.co/VQJ8ffn0Qz

WHITE KNUCKLE is available in trade paperback and digital editions in bookstores, from Samhain Publishing, or on Amazon at http://amzn.to/1STW9jo

#thriller #mysterybooks #mystery #horror #serialkiller #FBI #procedural #crime #trucker #action #scary

“WHITE KNUCKLE a phenomenal read with scenes that can only be described as the epitome of terror.” – HorrorNewsNet.

Monday, August 3rd, 2015

“There’s more than mere road rage on the highway. A serial killer in the form of a truck driver has killed hundreds of women across the United States for over thirty years. The killer under the handle White Knuckle has eluded police captivity with barely a trace until now. A FBI agent, Sharon Ormsby goes undercover as a fellow trucker. Hot pursuit is engaged and carnage kicks into overdrive as Ormsby narrows in on her target threatening to put an end to the trail of bloodshed that goes on for miles and miles.

I’m never ceased to be amazed by the formidable talent that Samhain Publishing puts out month after month. Although I’d read White Knuckle back in June, it was difficult to put together a tangible review to really do this phenomenal read justice.

Author Eric Red harnesses and exploits the fear factors within each of us instantly. With a firm grasp on his market and how the subconscious works, his efforts come across seemingly with ease. The vulnerability to everyday occurrences such as driving, the open road, transport trucks is showcased and the darkness that our irrational fears manifests is tweaked to the next level making this tale highly plausible and all the more terrifying.”  – Dave Gammon / HorrorNews.net

Read the full review at: http://bit.ly/1MI7cK8

WHITE KNUCKLE is available in trade paperback and digital editions in bookstores, from Samhain Publishing, or on Amazon at http://amzn.to/1STW9jo

“Eric Red is an author to discover and enjoy, and WHITE KNUCKLE is highly recommended” – Bookgasm.

Monday, July 6th, 2015

“The character of White Knuckle himself is one of the most gruesome and terrifying ever imagined.  Like Thomas Harris did in THE SILENCE OF THE LAMBS, Red demonstrates that the scariest monsters don’t always come from another planet or the laboratory of some misguided scientist – but rather are flesh-and-blood humans we might see on any given day, with an altogether different attitude about the value of life.  Eric Red is an author to discover and enjoy, and WHITE KNUCKLE is highly recommended for those who prefer their horror with a huge dose of reality.  But avoid reading it before taking a road trip, unless you’re prepared to alter your route before hitting the road.” — Alan Cranis, Bookgasm.

Read the full review at:  http://bit.ly/1M7sD4I

WHITE KNUCKLE is available now in trade paperback and digital editions in bookstores, from Samhain Publishing, or on Amazon at http://amzn.to/1STW9jo